Menu Close

SA20 is a national Twenty20 league cricket event in South Africa organized by Cricket South Africa (CSA) and officially played in the first season of the tournament. Six teams from different cities within the country compete. The tournament's first champions were Sunrisers Eastern Cape.


At BestCricketBettingSite, we do more than just provide the best cricket betting site; we also provide you with information about popular cricket events to help you stay ahead of the competition.

List of SA20 Betting Sites in India 2024





160% up to ₹16,000!

15x bonus amount


150% up to ₹32,000 

7x bonus amount


300% up to ₹10,000

5x bonus amount

360% up to ₹11,000 turnover x500

No requirements


Bonus Up To ₹9,000

5x bonus amount


100% Up To ₹10,000

5x bonus amount


150% Up To ₹30,000!

16x bonus amount


100% up to ₹36,000

15x bonus amount


120% up to ₹12,000!

16x bonus amount


100% Up To ₹20,000

5x bonus amount


SA20 History

SA20 History

The SA20, or Betway SA20 due to sponsorship reasons, is a relatively modern Twenty20 cricket franchise competition from South Africa. It was founded in 2022 by Cricket South Africa (CSA) and is a debut match that took place for the first time in January 2023.


The event was set up to develop a successful T20 league in South Africa, as the Mzansi Super League (MSL) was very unsuccessful in the 2018 and 2019 editions. The SA20 learned from the MSL's shortcomings and secured a broadcasting deal with SuperSport, as well as investment from popular Indian Premier League franchises.


The first season of the SA20 league featured six franchises, including:

  1. MI Cape Town
  2. Durban’s Super Giants
  3. Joburg Super Kings
  4. Paarl Royals
  5. Pretoria Capitals
  6. Sunrisers Eastern Cape

The inaugural season enjoyed high rates of attendance, viewership, and competition. Sunrisers Eastern Cape, captained by Aiden Markram, won the championship match against the Pretoria Capitals and were declared victors.


Currently, the second season of SA20 begins on January 10, 2024. All six franchises from the inaugural season will return, making the game more fascinating than ever. The tournament will finish on February 10, 2024, at the Newlands Cricket Ground in Cape Town.


Therefore, in a short period, the SA20 has established itself as one of the best in T20 cricket. With its competitive framework, talented players, and devoted fans, SA20 will undoubtedly prosper in the coming years.


The Organizations


The six clubs face each other twice throughout the group stages of the competition, until the top four teams advance towards the semi-final rounds. Teams acquire players via an auction rather than a draft, which makes it the globe's second cricket association to do so, following the Indian Premier League.


Each club acquires a roster of 17 players and has the option of recruiting up to five players before the auction: three international players, one South African international player, and one inexperienced South African player.


Teams and Cities 

All six teams are owned by current Indian Premier League franchise proprietors. We have included a table below with some crucial information about the teams playing in this competition. 

SA20 Quick Information
SA20 Teams Home Field City Franchise Owner
Durban’s Super Giant Kingsmead Durban, Kwazulu-Nata RPSG Group
Joburg Super Kings Wanderers Stadium Johannesburg, Gauteng Chennai Super Kings Limited
MI Cape Town Newlands Cape Town, Western Cape Reliance Industries LTD
Paarl Royals Boland Park Paarl, Western Cape Royals Sports Group
Pretoria Capitals Centurion Park Pretoria, Gauteng JSW Group
Sunrisers Eastern Cape St. Georges Park Gqeberha, Eastern Cape Sun TV Network

1st Season of the Tournament - Highlights 

1st Season of the Tournament Highlights

During the 2023 SA20 season, the Sunrisers Eastern Cape were the first team to make it to the throne by defeating the Pretoria Capitals by 4 wickets. Aiden Markham was named the "Player of the Series” due to his consistent brilliance.


Markram's overall performance throughout the season was truly amazing. He dominated the game with his batting, gathering 381 runs at an average of 47.62, featuring two fifties and a magnificent century. His calmness at the wicket was a defining component in his team's crucial victories.


Here are the other players who also dominate their game:

  • Rassie van Dussen - a batsman from Paarl Royals, was a magnificent player throughout the SA20 season and also in the Cricket World Cup. He smashed the highest partnership in the inaugural season of SA20 with 214 runs and finished the season with 392 runs.


  • Tabraiz Shamsi - The Sunrisers Eastern Cape spinner, who was a batsman's nightmare with the deceptive googlies while taking 16 wickets throughout the tournament, showed to be a valuable asset to his group.


  • David Miller -The Pretoria Capitals skipper, was powerful with his bat, scoring 341 runs at a strike average of 161.22, and won numerous matches for his club with spectacular hitting. 


We see how these players create a memorable experience for the squad and supporters so that they do not forget the inaugural competition of SA20. We also provide rankings of teams' performances throughout the season; see the table below.

Rankings (2023 Season) Teams 
Champion Sunrisers Eastern Cape
Runner Up Pretoria Capitals
Semi-Finalist Joburg Super Kings
Semi-Finalist Paarl Royals
5th Place Durban’s Super Giant
6th Place MI Cape Town

Feel the Excitement of SA20 Tournament with BestCricketBettingSite

Cricket talents from both local and international players are expected to leave an impact and provide you with the best opportunity to watch the game. SA20 teams are set to inspire a lot of enthusiasm among cricket fans and punters. 


Therefore, don't miss out on the action of all cricket matches by placing your bets at the best cricket betting sites in India, which you can only find here at BestCricketBettingSite.

Frequently Asked Questions

What’s the cricket format for the SA20 tournament?

The teams that finished first and second in the league's preliminary round will compete in the first qualifier, with the victor advancing directly to the championship match. The third and fourth-placed teams will face off in an elimination game, with the loser out.


How many matches does every team compete in SA20?

Each SA20 team is scheduled to play five home and five away games. Moreover, each side will receive four points for a victory and two for a draw or no score. Furthermore, one bonus point will be granted if the team that wins achieves a run rate that is 1.25 times that of their opponents.


Can I bet on the SA20 tournament?

Yes, you may place bets on your preferred cricket tournaments, like the SA20, IPL, World Cup, Champions Trophy, T20 World Cup, and other major events, by browsing one of the cricket betting platforms featured on BestCricketBettingSite.