Menu Close

The Pakistan Super League, typically referred to as the HBL PSL for sponsorship purposes, is a men's Twenty20 cricket competition played by six city-based franchise clubs. The Pakistan Cricket Board launched the tournament in 2015.


The league operates as a unified company, with each club owned and governed by investors, rather than as an association of separately owned franchises.


Every team plays their group stage games in a double round-robin style, and the top four teams with the highest points advance to the playoffs, which conclude in the championship.


There were eight seasons in the league. The teams with the best record are Islamabad United and Lahore Qalandars, who are the only two-time champions of the league. The defending champions, the Lahore Qalandars, are the first team to successfully defend their championship in two consecutive seasons.


You'll appreciate BestCricketBettingSite's whole package, which contains the best cricket betting sites in the country along with cricket stories, betting tips, casino games, exclusive specials, and a lot more.

List of PSL Betting Sites in India 2024





160% up to ₹16,000!

15x bonus amount


150% up to ₹32,000 

7x bonus amount


300% up to ₹10,000

5x bonus amount

360% up to ₹11,000 turnover x500

No requirements


Bonus Up To ₹9,000

5x bonus amount


100% Up To ₹10,000

5x bonus amount


150% Up To ₹30,000!

16x bonus amount


100% up to ₹36,000

15x bonus amount


120% up to ₹12,000!

16x bonus amount


100% Up To ₹20,000

5x bonus amount


League History

PSL History

The PSL was made public by the Pakistan Cricket Board in September 2015. The former Pakistani national team captains, Wasim Akram and Rameez Raja agreed to market the PSL and become brand ambassadors for the cricket league for three years.


After a while of preparation and two previous unsuccessful efforts, the league was officially launched on February 4, 2016, in the United Arab Emirates. Sports Minister Nahyan bin Mubarak Al Nahyan presided over the inaugural ceremony.


The league's initial seasons included five clubs that represented the major cities of Pakistan's provinces and the capital of the nation. The PSL's inaugural season featured a larger ratio of international players.


The league recruits players using a draft method, similar to that used in many North American professional sports tournaments, rather than an auction system, as applied to other types of T20 leagues.


On September 20, 2015, 3Di introduced the PSL's official logo during an event in Lahore, accompanied by current and former cricketers and other Pakistani personalities.


In December 2015, the commercial rights to the original franchisees were sold for $93 million over ten years. According to a report by Arif Habib, the market value of PSL reached up to $300 million in 2017 and has increased significantly in the years that followed.


PSL Teams and Cities

PSL Teams and Cities

According to a PCB news release, about 20 companies expressed interest in purchasing franchises for the cricket league before the start of the season. On October 18, 2015, the Pakistan Cricket Board started asking for franchise proposals, with an application deadline of November 15. Bid winners received a ten-year franchise.


The five franchises that played in the league's inaugural season had been sold on December 3, 2015, for an overall price of US$93 million, after seven bidders submitted official offers.


Pakistan Super League (Quick Information)
Team  Franchise Owner City Year Founded Stadium
Islamabad United Leonine Global Sports Islamabad 2015 Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium
Karachi Kings Salman Iqbal Karachi 2015 National Stadium
Lahore Qalandars  Fawad Rana Lahore 2015 Gaddafi Stadium
Multan Sultans  Ali Tareen Multan 2017 Multan Cricket Stadium
Peshawar Zalmi Javed Afridi Peshawar 2015 Arbab Niaz Stadium
Quetta Gladiators  Nadeem Omar Quetta 2015 Bugti Stadium

PSL Format 

The PSL is organized in a double round-robin format. Every club plays one another twice, with the top four advancing to the playoffs. The playoffs employ the Page playoff system, which is also similar to the Indian Premier League.


The league adheres to the International Cricket Council's regulations and guidelines; however, it pioneered the DRS method for T20s, which was eventually adopted by the International Cricket Council.


In the preliminary stage, a win is worth two points, a tie is worth one, and a defeat is worth zero. In the case of a tie, after both sides have utilized the specified number of overs, a super over is used to decide the winner. In the group stage, teams are rated according to the following criteria:

  • Higher number of points.
  • If tie, higher run rate.
  • If a tie, the most number of wins.
  • If tie, few losses.
  • If still tied, the outcomes of a head-to-head matchup.


In every play-off match that ends in a tie, a superover is utilized to decide who will win. If the super over is not achievable or the over results in a tie, the club with the best league standing at the final whistle of the regular season is declared the victor of the game.


PSL List of Champions 

PSL List of Champions

Since its inception seven years ago, the PSL has been a storm of cricket love, sending spectators with their ears driven against their television sets as they watch intense matches between great rivals. 


At this point, six teams have fought, and each has made its mark on the tournament's renowned history. Let's take a short look at the champions that have carved their names into PSL culture:

PSL List of Champions ( 2016 - Present)
Season Champion Runner-Up Hosts Year MVP
1 Islamabad United Quetta Gladiators UAE 2016 Ravi Bopara
2 Peshawar Zalmi Quetta Gladiators Pakistan/UAE 2017 Kamran Akmal
3 Islamabad United Peshawar Zalmi Pakistan/UAE 2018 Luke Ronchi
4 Quetta Gladiators Peshawar Zalmi Pakistan/UAE 2019 Shane Watson
5 Karachi Kings Lahore Qalandars Pakistan 2020 Babar Azam
6 Multan Sultans Peshawar Zalmi Pakistan/UAE 2021 Sohaib Maqsood
7 Lahore Qalandars Multan Sultans Pakistan 2022 Mohammad Rizwan
8 Lahore Qalandars  Multan Sultans Pakistan 2023 Ihsanullah

Feel the Excitement of the Pakistan Super League with BestCricketBettingSite

Cricket skills from domestic as well as foreign players are anticipated to make a lasting impression and give you the finest opportunity to witness the action. PSL 2024 is projected to bring about a lot of excitement among cricket fans and punters. 


Skip the boring browsing and let BestCricketBettingSite help you find the best online cricket betting sites in the India. New Indian punters may take pleasure in cricket-related bonuses and other enticing promotions after joining the site. 

Frequently Asked Questions

What’s the cricket format for the PSL tournament?

The PSL is organized in a double round-robin style. Every club faces each other twice, with the top four advancing to the playoffs. The postseason matches use the Page playoff system, which is also used in the Indian Premier League.


How many matches are there in the PSL?

There are a total of 34 games in the PSL tournament.


Can I bet on the PSL tournament?

Yes, you may make bets on your favorite cricket competitions, such as the PSL, IPL, World Cup, Champions Trophy, T20 World Cup, and other big events, by visiting one of the cricket betting sites listed on BestCricketBettingSite.