Menu Close

The Indian Premier League, often known as the TATA IPL for business purposes, is a men's Twenty20 (T20) cricket competition conducted annually in India. The league is being fought over by 10 city-based franchise clubs.


The BCCI established the league in 2007. Each year, the competition takes place throughout the summer months of March and May. It has a unique slot in the ICC Future Tours Programme since fewer international cricket trips take place during IPL seasons throughout the globe.


You'll love BestCricketBettingSite's complete package, which includes the best cricket betting sites in the country, cricket information, betting advice, casino games, unique promotions, and much more.


In the boiling cauldron of the exciting IPL tournament, 10 teams compete for T20 dominance. From Mumbai's delicate touches to Chennai's smart thinking, every city embodies the IPL's electrifying energy.


Whether it's cheering furious yorkers or explosive sixes, cricket fans across India unite in an intense appreciation of the game's intensity and pure fun. Fasten your seat belts, ladies and gentlemen, for it's time for the IPL spectacular.

List of IPL Betting Sites in India 2024





160% up to ₹16,000!

15x bonus amount


150% up to ₹32,000 

7x bonus amount


300% up to ₹10,000

5x bonus amount

360% up to ₹11,000 turnover x500

No requirements


Bonus Up To ₹9,000

5x bonus amount


100% Up To ₹10,000

5x bonus amount


150% Up To ₹30,000!

16x bonus amount


100% up to ₹36,000

15x bonus amount


120% up to ₹12,000!

16x bonus amount


100% Up To ₹20,000

5x bonus amount


League History and Growth

League History and Growth

The Indian Cricket League (ICL) was established in 2007 with support from Zee Entertainment Enterprises. The Rajasthan Royals, a smaller-market team led by Shane Warne, the legendary Australian bowler, claimed the first IPL tournament, which lasted 44 days and took place in 2008. The IPL has gone quite a distance since its inaugural season.


According to a Forbes article in 2022, the average worth of IPL franchises has grown at a 24 percent yearly pace, from $67 million in 2009 (of 8 teams) to $1.04 billion by 2022 (of 10 teams). This increase in average team price is significant when contrasted to the previous 13-year growth rate of 10% for National Football League club values.


Expectations for the 2023–27 media agreement will add to the team's value in 2022. Digital and television rights were acquired by Viacom18 and Star India (owned by Disney) for an all-time high of $6 billion over five years beginning in 2023.


This is more than triple the previous cycle's media rights sales price. The IPL's success prompted the BCCI to establish a new women's cricket league, the Women's Premier League (WPL).


Following the IPL's popularity, other cricketing nations hurried to seize some of the spoils by establishing their own national T20 competitions. Major League Cricket (MLC), a United States-based cricket league.


The T20 cricket league, which debuted in 2023, also has IPL associations: four of its six clubs have received financing from IPL franchise owners, and several IPL stars appear in MLC.


IPL Teams and Cities


With heart-stopping action from the Indian Premier League (IPL), ten teams, each with representative cities and a huge fan base fight it out to capture the IPL throne. From the golden beaches of Mumbai Indians to the big hills of Chennai Super Kings, every city has IPL music in its heart. As of the IPL 2024 edition, the league includes 10 teams spread over India.


Indian Premier League (Quick Information)
Team  City  State Year Started Stadium
Chennai Super Kings Chennai Tamil Nadu 2008 M. A. Chidambaram Stadium
Delhi Capitals New Delhi Delhi 2008 Arun Jaitley Stadium
Gujarat Titans Ahmedabad Gujarat 2022 Narendra Modi Stadium
Kolkata Knight Riders Kolkata West Bengal 2008 Eden Gardens 
Lucknow Super Giants Lucknow Uttar Pradesh 2022 Ekana Stadium
Mumbai Indians Mumbai Maharashtra 2008 Wankhede Stadium
Punjab Kings Mohali Punjab 2008 Inderjit Singh Bindra Stadium
Rajasthan Royals Jaipur Rajasthan 2008 Sawai Mansingh Stadium
Royal Challengers Bangalore  Bangalore  Karnataka 2008 M. Chinnaswamy Stadium
Sunrisers Hyderabad Hyderabad Telangana 2013 Rajiv Gandhi Stadium

IPL Format

The Indian Premier League (IPL) uses a round-robin stage and knockout format and features clubs in major Indian cities. Matches often start in the late afternoon or early evening; thus, at least some of the games take place under floodlights at night to optimize television viewership for global broadcasts.


At first, league matches took place at home and away between all teams, but due to the projected growth of ten clubs (split into two groups of five) in 2011, the structure changed, limiting matches between certain teams to a single meeting.


The top four teams play three playoff games, with one losing team getting a second chance to advance to the ultimate round, an arrangement designed to maximize possible broadcast revenue.


The playoff phase of the competition features the top four teams in a series of elimination games that give a single team that lost its first-round game a second chance to proceed to the championship match.


List of IPL Champions


Since the inaugural season 16 years ago, the IPL has been an uproar of cricket passion, leaving fans with their ears pressed against their television screens as they witness dramatic games between historic rivals. 


At the moment, 10 teams have competed, with each leaving their stamp on the tournament's legendary past. Let's take a glance at the champions who have etched their names in IPL heritage.

IPL List of Champions ( 2008 - Present)
Edition Champion Runner-Up Year Season MVP
1 Rajasthan Royals  Chennai Super Kings 2008 Shane Watson
2 Deccan Chargers Royal Challengers Bangalore  2009 Adam Gilchrist
3 Chennai Super Kings Mumbai Indians 2010 Sachin Tendulkar
4 Chennai Super Kings Royal Challengers Bangalore  2011 Chris Gayle
5 Kolkata Knight Riders Chennai Super Kings 2012 Sunil Narine
6 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings 2013 Shane Watson
7 Kolkata Knight Riders Kings XI Punjab 2014 Glenn maxwell
8 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings 2015 Andre Russell
9 Sunrisers Hyderabad Royal Challengers Bangalore  2016 Virat Kohli
10 Mumbai Indians Rising Pune Supergiant 2017 Ben Stokes
11 Chennai Super Kings Sunrisers Hyderabad 2018 Sunil Narine
12 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings 2019 Andre Russell
13 Mumbai Indians Delhi Capitals 2020 Jofra Archer
14 Chennai Super Kings Kolkata Knight Riders 2021 Harshal Patel
15 Gujarat Titans Rajasthan Royals  2022 Jos Buttler
16 Chennai Super Kings Gujarat Titans 2023 Shubman Gill

Feel the Excitement of the Indian Premier League with BestCricketBettingSite

Cricket talents from both domestic and foreign players are expected to leave a lasting impact and provide you with the best opportunity to see the action. The Indian Premier League 2024 is anticipated to draw in a lot of enthusiasm among cricket supporters and punters.


Skip the tedious research and let BestCricketBettingSite guide you to the best cricket online betting sites in India. After signing up, new Indian bettors may benefit from cricket-related rewards and other fascinating promotions.

Frequently Asked Questions

What’s the cricket format for the IPL tournament?

The league plays in a round-robin group and playoff format, with clubs in major Indian cities.


How many matches are there in the IPL?

There are going to be 74 league games played amongst all ten clubs, with the top four teams moving on to the elimination rounds and the top two teams playing in the championship round. 


Can I bet on the IPL tournament?

Yes, you may place bets on your favorite cricket competitions, such as the IPL, World Cup, Champions Trophy, T20 World Cup, and other big events, by visiting one of the cricket betting sites listed on BestCricketBettingSite.